About the Award

The Hackmatack Children's Choice Book Award is a literary program designed for young readers in Atlantic Canada. Each year, thousands of children in grades four to six (aged nine to twelve) read from the selection of outstanding Canadian books and vote for their favourites. The award is designed after similar successful programs in Ontario (The Silver Birch Award) and British Columbia (The Red Cedar Award). Just as other provinces have chosen names of well-known trees in their regions for their reading programs, the name of the Hackmatack program comes from a tree commonly found in Atlantic Canada, also known as a tamarack or larch.

The Hackmatack Award was established with young readers in mind and serves to achieve the following objectives:

The Hackmatack Selection Committee nominates renowned Canadian books for young readers to the Hackmatack shortlist. The forty books nominated for the Hackmatack Award are divided into four categories - English Fiction, English Non-fiction, French Fiction and French Non-fiction. Children in registered reading groups read the nominated books and vote for the winners of the award in the spring of each year. The winners of the Hackmatack Award in each category are announced at the final award ceremony in May.

To learn about how you take part in the program, visit How to Participate. Feel free to contact our office with any other questions about the program.

Hackmatack Children’s Choice Book Award
PO Box 34055
Scotia Square RPO
Halifax, NS
B3J 3S1

Tel.: (902) 424-3774
Fax: (902) 424-0820, attn. Hackmatack Coordinator
Email: hackmatack@hackmatack.ca